Home > Sports Betting > NFL > Oakland Raiders

Oakland Raiders – Online Sports Betting

US Betting Report

Next game in the NFL

: Sep 27 @ 4:24am

Spread Moneyline Total
Play Now >>

Free online sports betting games

For those of you who live in a state where sports betting is awaiting regulation, click the link above to play our free game where you can practice your skills until it’s legal to place bets over the internet in your state.

Best of luck and let us know how you did!

Team History

Oakland Raiders compete in the NFC’s West division. The team was founded back in 1960 and made their debut on 11 September 1960 as part of the American football league.

The Oakland Raiders’ is currently being managed by a former player, Michael Francis Mayock. Mayock, who was born on 14 August 1958, is the teams’ current general manager and has had an esteemed career, including working with the New York Giants, and appointed as a football analyst for various sports networks including the NFL network and NBC.

Oakland Raiders
Oakland Raiders

Although the AFL was initiated in the summer of 1959, the Oakland Raiders were not yet a member until January the following year. They eventually replaced the Minneapolis franchise, making them the 8th member of the AFL to become part of the NFL.

The Raiders initial run was not so successful as they had hoped, with a record of 9-33-0, until they relocated in 1966. The team had to play at the Kezar Stadium and the Candlestick Park, and as a temporary measure, they played in Frank York field in Oakland. Before relocating to the 54,000+ seat Oakland Coliseum Stadium, they averaged a home attendance of around 11,000 people.

LA Coliseum
LA Coliseum

Al Davis was appointed as head coach of the Oakland Raiders in 1963, after a previous career as an assisting coach at San Diego. During his first year with the team, Davies was able to reignite the teams’ passion to win, improving their record to 10-4, and in turn, was congratulated for his efforts by the AFL who named him as coach of the year.

Davies was given the opportunity to be an AFL commissioner in 1966, and so left the Oakland Raiders for a brief period to carry out his work in 1966. However, after the NFL and AFL finally merged, he made a return to the Oakland Raiders after being appointed as managing general partner, which helped him to propel the raiders to become one of American football’s most prestigious entities.

The Raiders have a huge collection of successes since their inception, with a significant winning record of 19 between 1965 and 1985. Over the 20-year period, the team managed to secure 12 championship division titles, the AFL championship in 1967, the AFC championship in 1976, 1980 and 1983, and were also victorious in three Super Bowls (Exide, XP, and XVIII). The Oakland Raiders are one of the only two sides to compete in the super bowl for over three decades (the 60s, 70s, and 1980s).

Since the takeover by head coach Al Davis in 1963, the team has set an impressive win record of 661 between 1963-1992, staging 285 wins, 146 losses, and drawing 11 times, which is hailed as the best record amongst all major sports teams.

Although then head coach Al Davis was one of the main proponents for the team success, the impressive record can be attributed to many other team players and coaches. As well as Al Davis, 12 other Oakland Raiders players have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. They include Dave Casper, Marcus Allen, Willie Brown, Howie Long, Gene Upshaw, Jim Morton, Ray Guy, Fred Biletnikoff, George blunder, Art Shell, Ted Hendricks, Mike Haynes, and coach John Madden.

The teams’ coaches that have been named as coach of the year by the AFL or NFL include John Madden, Tom Clause and Art Shell.

After a while, the raiders decided to relocate to a much bigger stadium, the Los Angeles, Coliseum. However, after 12 seasons in their LA-based stadium, the team decided to relocate back to their city of Oakland.

Star Players

Ken Stabler

Stabler was a well-established American football quarterback who played in the NFL for a variety of teams, including the raiders between 1970-1979. He moved on to the Boilers in 1980 ‘till 1981, and finished his playing career at the New Orleans which he played for between 1982-1984.

Stabler, who was also nicknamed ‘Snake’, was named the NFL’s MVP in 1974 and was placed in the NFL’s 1970s all-decade team for his performances as a professional quarterback. Stabler also helped the Raiders secure a Super Bowl victory during Super Bowl Exide. After his passing, Ken Stabler was appointed in 2016 as a member of a Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Gene Upshaw

Gene Upshaw played for the Oakland Raiders during his career when they were part of both the American Football League, as well as the NFL. Also named, “Uptown Gene”, and “Highway 63”, he is known as the only player to have reached three different Super Bowls in three different decades with the same team. Upshaw was also appointed as director of the National Football League Players Association, and in 1987, he was elected to be placed in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Howie Long

Howie Long was a significant player for the raiders, and help them achieve the Super Bowl XVIII Championship title in 1984. As well as being appointed to Pro Bowls eight times, he was also elected a position in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in the year 2000.